Information for parents

Information for parents

Dear parent/carer

I would like to welcome you to our website and hope that it contains the information or help you are looking for.

We are very proud of Greenhead College and what its students and staff achieve each year. Visitors often comment on the happy and purposeful atmosphere they find here; this comes from the warm relationships which exist between staff and students, creating a community in which each person is valued and achieves their full potential.

This website offers an insight into our work at Greenhead College. However, it is no substitute for a visit and I would encourage you to come to an open event in either October or November 2016 so you can see for yourself what is on offer.

Simon Lett - Principal

This section of the website is divided into two sections:

Information for parents of prospective students

A Level Reform:
All Subjects will have new A Level specifications from September 2017. These will be linear with examinations and assessment at the end of the two year course. Students will be able to choose from a three or four A Level programme, depending on their success at GCSE. In exceptional circumstances, students may apply to study more that 4 A Levels. Please see the section on How to get a place at Greenhead College for further details on entry criteria.

The college curriculum offer is subject to change at any time as a result of the A Level reform process. For further information, please watch for regular updates on our website.

Target Setting and Progress monitoring

Our value added/ progress monitoring system provides an effective means of measuring student and staff performance. Students’ GCSE results on entry are measured against their subsequent progress every term and what this suggests about the likely consequences of their future achievement at A Level. Praise, encouragement and help are given as needed in order to try to ensure that all students achieve their potential.

How does it work?

Each GCSE grade is scored according to the scale below:

A*
8
A 7
B 6
C 5
D 4
E 3
F 2
G 1
U 0

For example, if a student achieved 3 grade As, 3 grade Bs and 3 grade Cs, their on entry points score would be:
3 A grades = 21 (3x7)
3 B grades = 18 (3x6)
3 C grades = 15 (3x5)
Which gives a total of 55
The total is then divided by the number of GCSE grades to find the average score: 55 / 9 = 6.1
Using national benchmarks, this on entry score is converted to a minimum target grade for each subject. In this instance, an on entry points score of 6.1 would lead to minimum target grades of BBC at A Level. This minimum target grade is used throughout the career of a students at the College to assess progress.
Students are monitored four times a year. Initially, students are assessed in mid September to swiftly identify any issues arising early in the year. There is a full monitoring period in November, an interim monitoring period in December and a second full monitoring period in Feb/ March.

Please follow the following links to the relevant pages of our site:

Kirklees & Calderdale Careers Service website provides information on the various options at 16

Information for parents of current Greenhead students

Please follow the following links to the relevant sections of our site:

Safeguarding: Who do I contact if I have safeguarding concerns about my son or daughter?

The College aims to protect young people from abuse and to raise the awareness of both teaching and support staff of their responsibilities in identifying and reporting possible cases of abuse. If you have concerns that you wish to disclose the Safeguarding Co-ordinators are listed below:

David Greenwood (Assistant Principal) ext: 209; dgreenwood@greenhead.ac.uk
Christine Milsom (Vice Principal) ext: 293; cmilsom@greenhead.ac.uk

Reports and Parents' Evenings

Our value-added/monitoring system provides an effective means of measuring student and staff performance. Students' GCSE results on entry are measured against their subsequent progress every term and what this suggests about the likely consequences for their future achievement at AS and A Level. Praise, encouragement and help are given as needed in order to try and ensure that all students fulfil their potential.

Personal tutors and subject teachers invite parents of new students to an evening meeting in the third week of the Autumn term to answer general queries and discuss any matters of concern. There are two Parents' Evenings in the first year and one in the second year when you can make appointments with your son's or daughter's teachers to discuss their progress. The dates are published in the calendar and on the report which comes out shortly before the appropriate Parents' Evening.

Who do I contact if I have concerns about my son or daughter?

Your son's or daughter's personal tutor is your first point of contact, they will then discuss any of your concerns with subject teachers if you wish. Parents are always free to contact the Principal or another senior member of staff and you have the right to approach the Chair of Governors.

Personal Tutors

Personal Tutor Initials email
Kate Abel KAB kabel@greenhead.ac.uk
Usman Anwar UAN uanwar@greenhead.ac.uk
Diane Beaven DBE dbeaven@greenhead.ac.uk
Claire Berry CBE cberry@greenhead.ac.uk
Nina Birdi NBI nbirdi@greenhead.ac.uk
Matthew Burrows MBU mburrows@greenhead.ac.uk
Rowena Burton RBU rburton@greenhead.ac.uk
Liz Charles ECH echarles@greenhead.ac.uk
John Clyde Evans JCL jclydeevans@greenhead.ac.uk
Andrew Coles ACO acoles@greenhead.ac.uk
Chris Dando CDA cdando@greenhead.ac.uk
Barbara Farmer BFA bfarmer@greenhead.ac.uk
Lynsey Jones LJO ljones@greenhead.ac.uk
Tom Mill TMI tmill@greenhead.ac.uk
Christine Milsom CMI cmilsom@greenhead.ac.uk
Julia Musoke-Duggan JMU jmusoke@greenhead.ac.uk
Mike Pickerden MPI mpickerden@greenhead.ac.uk
Janet Pitts JPI jpitts@greenhead.ac.uk
Jane Roberts JRO jroberts@greenhead.ac.uk
Jane Rylah JRY jrylah@greenhead.ac.uk
Anna Shaw ASH ashaw@greenhead.ac.uk
Zoe Smith ZSM zsmith@greenhead.ac.uk
Alyson Starling AST astarling@greenhead.ac.uk
Peter Sylvester PSY psylvester@greenhead.ac.uk
Charlotte Twigger CTW ctwigger@greenhead.ac.uk

NB: Staff check their email with different degrees of regularity! If your request is urgent please contact the tutor by phone.